Home > Wales > Rhondda Cynon Taf

Rhondda Cynon Taf

Rhondda Cynon Taf or RCT, is a county borough in the south of Wales. It consists of five valleys: the Rhondda Fawr and Fach, Cynon, Taff and Ely Valleys, plus a number of towns and villages away from the valleys. Results from the 2011 census showed 19.1% of its 234,410 residents self-identified themselves as having some ability in the use of the Welsh language.[1]

The county borough borders Merthyr Tydfil and Caerphilly to the east, Cardiff and the Vale of Glamorgan to the south, Bridgend and Neath Port Talbot to the west and Powys to the north. Its principal towns are - AberdareLlantrisant with Talbot Green and Pontypridd, with other key settlements/towns being - MaerdyFerndaleHirwaunLlanharanMountain AshPorthTonypandyTonyrefail and Treorchy