Home > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway

Dumfries and Galloway

Dumfries and Galloway  is one of 32 unitary council areas of Scotland and is located in the western Southern Uplands. It comprises the historic counties of DumfriesshireStewartry of Kirkcudbright and Wigtownshire, the latter two of which are collectively known as Galloway. The administrative centre is the town of Dumfries
To the north, Dumfries and Galloway borders East AyrshireSouth Ayrshire and South Lanarkshire; in the east the Borders; and to the south the county of Cumbria in England and the Solway Firth. To the west lies the Irish Sea.