Home > England > Devon


Devon , also known as Devonshire, which was formerly its common and official name, is a county of England, reaching from the Bristol Channel in the north to the English Channel in the south. It is part of South West England, bounded by Cornwall to the west, Somerset to the northeast, and Dorset to the east. The City of Exeter is the county town; seven other districts of East DevonMid DevonNorth DevonSouth HamsTeignbridgeTorridge, and West Devon are under the jurisdiction of Devon County CouncilPlymouth and Torbay are each a part of Devon but administered as unitary authorities.Combined as a ceremonial county, Devon's area is 6,707 km2 (2,590 square miles) and its population is about 1.1 million