Home > Wales > Ceredigion


Ceredigion is a county in Mid Wales and previously was a minor kingdom.[1] Known for centuries in English as Cardiganshire(WelshSir Aberteifi), it began to be administered as a county in 1282.

The county had a population of 75,900 at the 2011 UK census. Its largest town, Aberystwyth, is one of the two administrative centres; the other being Aberaeron. Aberystwyth houses Aberystwyth UniversityBronglais Hospital and the National Library of Wales. The inland town of Lampeter houses part of the University of Wales Trinity Saint David. Ceredigion is considered to be a centre of Welsh culture and more than half the population speaks Welsh. The county is mainly rural with over 50 miles (80 km) of coastline and a mountainous hinterland. The numerous sandy beaches, together with the long-distance Ceredigion Coast Path provide excellent views of Cardigan Bay.